Three SEAMEO Regional Awards Highlighted at the 45th SEAMEO High Officials Meeting, Bangkok

Friday, 24 March 2023 | Piyapa Su-angavatin


Bangkok, 29 November 2022 - The 45th SEAMEO High Officials (HOM) Meeting highlighted the prestigious awarding ceremony of three Regional Awards, namely 2022 SEAMEO-Australia Education Links Award, 2022 SEAMEO-Japan ESD Award, and the 1st Southeast Asian Educational Innovation Awards at the Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel &Towers.  The Award Presentation was officiated by Dr Atthaphon Sangkhawasee, the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Education, Thailand.  Officials from partners and sponsoring countries, namely Australia and Japan announced the winners and commitment to continue the support in the SEAMEO award programme.   

The SEAMEO-Australia Education Links Award (SAELA) has been supported by the Department of Education of Australia since 2013. The SAELA gives recognition and provides financial assistance to project proposals or existing projects which bring benefits to a Southeast Asian community and highlight the education cooperation between Australia and Southeast Asia.

Under this award cycle, the SEAMEO Secretariat received 82 research proposals from the educators and researchers from Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Philippines, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore and Vietnam.


Ms Jennifer BAHEN, Education Counsellor to Vietnam, Australian Government Department of Education, presented the remarks and announced the winner of the 2022 SEAMEO-Australia Education Links Award (SAELA).


The winner of the 2022 SEAMEO-Australia Education Links Award under the theme ‘Building Back Better through Partnership is Dr Elga Andriana, Head of International Undergraduate Programme, and Researcher of Centre for Life Span Development, Faculty of Psychology, University Gadjah Mada, Indonesia.  Her winning proposal is “Our (photo) Voice: Children and Young People’s Joint Action Research on Student Wellbeing for All”. 


Dr Elga Andriana received the token from Dr Atthaphon, the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, Thailand


The SEAMEO-Japan Education for Sustainable Development Award (ESD) Award has been supported by the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT), Japan since 2012 with its aims to promote ESD best practices in schools and communities across Southeast Asia.  In 2022, 278 schools in eight Southeast Asian countries, namely, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, and Thailand, participated in the competition.


Mr MACHIDA Daisuke, Specialist and Adviser to the Director, International Affairs Division, MEXT, Japan announced the winners of 2022 SEAMEO-Japan ESD Award.


Under the theme of ‘Education Transformation through Partnership’, the winners of the 2022 SEAMEO-Japan ESD Award are the following schools:        

  • 1st Prize Winner: La Filipina National High School, the Philippines  
  • 2nd Prize Winner: SMA Negeri 6 Bandung, Indonesia 
  • 3rd Prize Winner: Panabo City National High School, the Philippines 
  • The Special Prize for the Best Programme Carried out in Small Schools of Less than 250 Students: Sekolah Alam Pacitan (School of Exploring), Indonesia


Dr Dionisio B Siglos
Principal IV, La Filipina National High School
the 1st Prize Winner

Drs I Solihin, M Ag
School Principal, SMA Negeri 6 Bandung
the 2nd Prize Winner

Ms Memia B Infiesto
Principal IV, Panabo City National High School
the 3rd Prize Winner

Mr Bangun Naruttama S Pd AUD
School Principal, Sekolah Alam Pacitan
the Special Prize Winner


The 1st Southeast Asian Educational Innovation Awards was organised by SEAMEO Regional Centre for Educational Innovation and Technology (SEAMEO INNOTECH), Philippines in 2021. The award was participated by over 300 classroom and school innovations received from six (6) countries in Southeast Asia, such as Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam.


Dr Leonor Magtolis Briones, Centre Director of SEAMEO INNOTECH, Philippines presented the remarks and the importance of the Award.


The winners of Teacher Category and School Head Category are as follows:  

  • Winners of Teacher Category  
    • Dr Joana B Romano, Master Techer I
      Melencio M. Castelo Elementary School, the Philippines 
    • Ms Betya Sahara, Teacher
      SLB Negeri Kota Banharbaru, Indonesia     

  • Winners of School Head Category
    • Dr Mary Hazel B. Ballena, Principal II, Bucay North Elementary School, the Philippines  
    • Mr Rowan L Celestra, Principal II, Buenavista Elementary School, the Philippines


The winners of the 1st Southeast Asian Educational Innovation Awards of SEAMEO INNOTECH