The name ‘SEAMEO’ was chosen to reflect
the need for a regional grouping, the purpose
of which is to share and maximise use of
resources, with collective leadership to be
provided by the Ministers of Education of
the Member Countries.

The Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization (SEAMEO) was established in November 1965 as a chartered international organization whose purpose is to promote cooperation in education, science and culture in the Southeast Asian region. At present SEAMEO consists of 11 Member Countries, 9 Associate Members, and 8 Affiliate Members.

Member Countries

  1. Brunei
  2. Cambodia
  3. Indonesia
  4. Lao PDR
  5. Malaysia
  6. Myanmar
  1. Philippines
  2. Singapore
  3. Thailand
  4. Timor-Leste
  5. Vietnam

Associate Member Countries

  1. Australia
  2. Canada
  3. France
  4. Germany
  5. Morocco
  1. Netherlands
  2. New Zealand
  3. Spain
  4. United Kingdom

Affiliate Members

  1. Asia-Pacific Centre of Education for International Understanding (APCEIU)
  2. British Columbia Council for International Education (BCCIE)
  3. British Council
  4. China Education Association for International Exchange (CEAIE)
  5. International Council for Open and Distance Education (ICDE)
  6. Southeast Asia One Health University Network (SEAOHUN)
  7. The Education University of Hong Kong
  8. University of Tsukuba