The SEAMEO Executive Committee convened its fourth meeting on 28 May 2012 at the SEAMEO Secretariat, Bangkok, Thailand to tackle issues that require policy guidance such as the strategies in implementing the various initiatives under the SEAMEO-wide Action Plan 2011 to 2020; as well as administrative matters of the Organization requiring discussion and thorough inquiry.

The members of the SEAMEO Executive Committee, serving in their second year comprises high officials from SEAMEO Member Countries, namely: Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, the Philippines, Singapore, and Vietnam. The additional year in the Committee's term follows the change in the tenure of the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the SEAMEO High Officials Meeting; as well as the President of the SEAMEO Council which has been extended in 2011 from one to two years. This year's SEAMEO Executive Committee Meeting was chaired by Mr Haji Mahrub bin Haji Murni, Permanent Secretary (Core Education), Ministry of Education, Brunei Darussalam.

Various recommendations were provided on the implementation and funding strategy of existing and new projects and initiatives of SEAMEO. The Executive Committee also reviewed their terms of reference to align them with the recent amendments on the SEAMEO Charter which was brought about by the decision of the SEAMEO Council in 2011 to hold the SEAMEO Council Conference from annual to biennial.

Established in year 2002, the SEAMEO Executive Committee meets annually to, among others, advise on budgeting and financial matters of the Organization, review existing projects initiated by the SEAMEO Units, makes recommendations for the overall development of the SEAMEO Centres, and provides policy guidance on the Organization, including the overall development of the SEAMEO Secretariat.


(From left to right) Mr Haji Mahrub bin Haji Murni, Permanent Secretary (Core Education), Ministry of Education, Brunei Darussalam; Prof Dr Ainun Na'im, Secretary General, Ministry of Education and Culture, Indonesia; Atty Alberto T Muyot, Undersecretary, Department of Education, Philippines; Dr Cheong Wei Yang, Director of Planning Division on behalf of the Permanent Secretary (Education) of the Ministry of Education, Singapore; and Mr Tran Ba Viet Dzung, Director General, International Cooperation Department, Ministry of Education and Training, Vietnam.


Other country delegates and the SEAMEO Secretariat directorate and key staff members in a group photo with the SEAMEO Executive Committee